Brandon Bay Delivers …. Wavemasters 2022

The commitment to the waveriding cause shown by the wavemasters competitors was yet again rewarded by banging conditions with everyone giving their smallest kites an airing and dropping in to some decent well overhead waves.

Anticipation was high as the forecast for the week improved and solid swell was set to pump into Brandon Bay, as the wind was set to be solid for Monday the first round of the Masters Ladies and Ams was set to start, the swell was 3-4ft but with some brutal winds it was proving tricky to pick out the best sets. The ground crew managed to keep the heats rolling, and the riders qualified for the finals bravely deciding to push on through and a first full round of those divisions was successfully completed.

Everyone retired to the Green Room and Spillanes for a well earned Guinness and discussion on the day past and the day’s ahead. Tuesday was designated as a lay day and quite a few foil toys were brought out but Wednesday was looking on with a 4 metre swell and 30 knot plus winds forecast.

Wednesday morning arrived and everyone headed to Kilcummin towards the southern end of the bay to get the best wind direction to ride the building swells.

The pros kicked off proceedings with no easy heats and a high standard of riding throughout the fleet it was a tight run affair, a second round of the Masters Ladies and Ams followed with better waves on hand they all stepped up and again there were a lot of split decisions in the judging truck.

With all rounds completed we moved on to Thursday with an expression session where all the fleets took to the water and each rider voted for the sessions standout rider from within their fleet. In true wavemsters style no one voted for themselves!

The ever hospitable Spillane’s Bar overlooking the North end of Brandon Bay was the venue for the prize giving on Thursday night to crown our new Wavemaster’s champions for 2022.

Pro Ladies Results

Position Rider
First Gemma Soloman
Second Sukie Roberston
Third Katie Evans

Pro Mens Results

Position Rider
First Neal Gent
Second Ryan Coote
Third= Lee Harvey, Mark Shinn

Masters Results

Position Rider
First Paul Stebbington
Second Gareth Morgan
Third Rou Chater

Amateurs Results

Position Rider
First Adrian Hill
Second Sam Ross
Third Olly Murray

Expression Session Winner

Fleet Rider
Pro Ladies Sukie Robertson
Pro Men Ryan Coote
Masters Rou Chater
Amateurs Adrian Hill

Best Wipeout

Sam Ross

Spirit of the Event Award

Rich Boughton

Thank you to the event sponsors:
Easy Riders
Surf deck

The team for all their hard work
Ryan for the insight
The Neil’s for the admin
Pete/ rich/ Jane / Sam/ gem/ Amy / Ollie /

and of course Howard for the photographs